Read To Love and Be Wise by Josephine Tey Free Online

Ebook To Love and Be Wise by Josephine Tey read! Book Title: To Love and Be Wise
Date of issue: August 18th 1998
ISBN: 0684006316
ISBN 13: 9780684006314
The author of the book: Josephine Tey
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 5.90 MB
Edition: Touchstone

Read full description of the books To Love and Be Wise:

In my opinion, Josephine Tey is up there with the best British crime novelists of the last century. She wrote intriguing mysteries in clear, crisp and witty prose. Her detective, Inspector Grant, is well-developed and interesting without having any of the obvious eccentricities many crime writers choose to foist upon their detectives. Tey was also good with the minor characters, although in this novel it's fair to say that some are more believable than others.

Here, Inspector Grant is sent to investigate the disappearance of a very attractive young photographer whose arrival in an English village has had a disturbing impact on a number of the locals. Not surprisingly for a crime novel, there's more than a touch of the implausible in the narrative. If you're going to read this type of novel, you have to be able to suspend disbelief and just go with it. You also have to be prepared for a resolution that you can't work out for yourself, as some fairly crucial information is withheld from the reader until the big reveal. That's not my favourite style of mystery, but when it's written by Josephine Tey, I'm prepared to forgive a lot.

Read Ebooks by Josephine Tey

Read information about the author

Ebook To Love and Be Wise read Online! Josephine Tey was a pseudonym of Elizabeth Mackintosh. Josephine was her mother's first name and Tey the surname of an English Grandmother. As Josephine Tey, she wrote six mystery novels including Scotland Yard's Inspector Alan Grant.

The first of these, 'The Man in the Queue' (1929) was published under the pseudonym of Gordon Daviot , whose name also appears on the title page of another of her 1929 novels, 'Kit An Unvarnished History'. She also used the Daviot by-line for a biography of the 17th century cavalry leader John Graham, which was entitled 'Claverhouse' (1937).

Mackintosh also wrote plays (both one act and full length), some of which were produced during her lifetime, under the pseudonym Gordon Daviot. The district of Daviot, near her home of Inverness in Scotland, was a location her family had vacationed. The name Gordon does not appear in either her family or her history.

Elizabeth Mackintosh came of age during World War I, attending Anstey Physical Training College in Birmingham, England during the years 1915-1918. Upon graduation, she became a physical training instructor for eight years. In 1926, her mother died and she returned home to Inverness to care for her invalid father. Busy with household duties, she turned to writing as a diversion, and was successful in creating a second career.

Alfred Hitchcock filmed one of her novels, 'A Shilling for Candles' (1936) as 'Young and Innocent' in 1937 and two other of her novels have been made into films, 'The Franchise Affair' (1948), filmed in 1950, and 'Brat Farrar' (1949), filmed as 'Paranoiac' in 1963. In addition a number of her works have been dramatised for radio.

Her novel 'The Daughter of Time' (1951) was voted the greatest mystery novel of all time by the Crime Writers' Association in 1990.

Miss Mackintosh never married, and died at the age of 55, in London. A shy woman, she is reported to have been somewhat of a mystery even to her intimate friends. While her death seems to have been a surprise, there is some indication she may have known she was fatally ill for some time prior to her passing.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to To Love and Be Wise

Read EBOOK To Love and Be Wise by Josephine Tey Online free

Download PDF: to-love-and-be-wise.pdf To Love and Be Wise PDF