Read Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series) by Jane Austen Free Online

Ebook Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series) by Jane Austen read! Book Title: Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series)
Date of issue: September 17th 2007
ISBN: 1435101162
ISBN 13: 9781435101166
The author of the book: Jane Austen
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 368 KB
Edition: Barnes & Noble

Read full description of the books Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series):

Jane Austen is perhaps the best-loved of all English novelists. Her knowledge of human nature is remarkable, and her awareness of the importance of class, money and appearances makes her a peculiarly modern author. She addresses the politics of dating, courtship and mating with an incisive intelligence that both foreshadows and outstrips romantic novels of today.

Her teasing novels of gentle worldliness have been brought to new audiences by modern film and television productions, and this complete edition of her full-length novels – Sense and Sensibility, Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Mansfield Park, and Northanger Abbey – will be a welcome addition to any library or collection of books. This edition contains the delightful illustrations of Hugh Thomson, the finest illustrator of Jane Austen's works.

Read Ebooks by Jane Austen

Read information about the author

Ebook Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series) read Online! Jane Austen was an English novelist whose works of romantic fiction, set among the landed gentry, earned her a place as one of the most widely read writers in English literature, her realism and biting social commentary cementing her historical importance among scholars and critics.

Austen lived her entire life as part of a close-knit family located on the lower fringes of the English landed gentry. She was educated primarily by her father and older brothers as well as through her own reading. The steadfast support of her family was critical to her development as a professional writer. Her artistic apprenticeship lasted from her teenage years until she was about 35 years old. During this period, she experimented with various literary forms, including the epistolary novel which she tried then abandoned, and wrote and extensively revised three major novels and began a fourth. From 1811 until 1816, with the release of Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1815), she achieved success as a published writer. She wrote two additional novels, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, both published posthumously in 1818, and began a third, which was eventually titled Sanditon, but died before completing it.

Austen's works critique the novels of sensibility of the second half of the 18th century and are part of the transition to 19th-century realism. Her plots, though fundamentally comic, highlight the dependence of women on marriage to secure social standing and economic security. Her work brought her little personal fame and only a few positive reviews during her lifetime, but the publication in 1869 of her nephew's A Memoir of Jane Austen introduced her to a wider public, and by the 1940s she had become widely accepted in academia as a great English writer. The second half of the 20th century saw a proliferation of Austen scholarship and the emergence of a Janeite fan culture.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series)

Read EBOOK Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series) by Jane Austen Online free

Download PDF: jane-austen-complete-novels-collectors-library-editions-series.pdf Jane Austen: Complete Novels (Collector's Library Editions Series) PDF