Read Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho by Peter Guralnick Free Online

Ebook Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho by Peter Guralnick read! Book Title: Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho
Date of issue: 2006
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
The author of the book: Peter Guralnick
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 738 KB
Edition: Johnny Kniga

Read full description of the books Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho:

Sweet Soul Music on sukellus amerikkalaisen populaarimusiikin kiihkeimpään ajanjaksoon, vuosikymmeneen jolloin mustan rytmin kaksi kotia, kirkko ja kapakka, huomasivat päätyneensä epäpyhään liittoon äänilevyjen urilla ja tanssisalien lavoilla. Maallisesta rhythm'n'bluesista ja taivaallisesta gospelista syntyi 1950-luvun lopulla soul, intohimoisin kaikista bluesin perillisistä, ja southern-soul, soulin lapsista kiivain. 60-luvulla listoja hallitsivat Sam Cooken, Ray Charlesin, James Brownin, Solomon Burken, Aretha Franklinin ja Otis Reddingin kaltaiset laulajat, mutta jo vuosikymmenen lopulla ajat olivat taas muuttuneet, eikä Etelän intohimoisille äänille ollut enää tilaa.

Peter Guralnick kirjoittaa koko Etelän soulin tarinan; sen synnystä rasismin läpitunkemissa osissa Yhdysvaltoja, sen vaikutuksesta mustan itsetunnon kohottajana kansalaisoikeusliikkeen kuohuessa, pienten levy-yhtiöiden noususta, oudoista tiskijukista ja ekstroverteista tuottajista, ja tietenkin jo myyttisiin mittoihin kasvaneista laulajista, soittajista ja säveltäjistä.

Peter Guralnick on kirjoittanut mm. klassiset Elvis-elämäkerrat Nuori Elvis – Viimeinen juna Memphisiin ja Elvis – Graceland.

Read Ebooks by Peter Guralnick

Read information about the author

Ebook Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho read Online! Peter Guralnick is an American music critic, writer on music, and historian of US American popular music, who is also active as an author and screenwriter. He has been married for over 45 years to Alexandra. He has a son and daughter, Jacob and Nina.

Guralnick's first two books, Almost Grown (1964) and Mister Downchild (1967), were short story collections published by Larry Stark, whose small press in Cambridge, Larry Stark Press, was devoted to stories and poems. Mona Dickson, writing in MIT's The Tech (May 13, 1964) gave Almost Grown a favorable review.

After Guralnick graduated from Boston University in 1971 with a master's degree in creative writing, he began writing books chronicling the history of blues, country, rock and roll and soul.

His two-volume biography of Elvis Presley, Last Train to Memphis in 1994, followed by Careless Love in 1999, placed the story of Presley's career into a rise and fall arc. Encompassing more than 1,300 pages (including 1,150 pages of text), the work countered earlier biographies such as Albert Goldman's Elvis from 1981 with an in-depth, scholarly examination of Presley's life and music. Guralnick had previously written on Presley in the The Rolling Stone Illustrated History of Rock & Roll, starting with the first edition in 1976, said article having been reprinted for each subsequent edition.

Larry Stark Press published Peter Guralnick's second book in 1967. A first edition is currently valued at $200.

In contrast to contemporaries such as Lester Bangs, Ian Penman and Nick Tosches, whose music writings are marked by idiosyncratic, self-referential and highly personal styles, Guralnick's writing is characterized by a colloquial approach that is clean and understated by comparison. In his best passages, he has an ability to simultaneously empathize and remain objective. Writing as a music fan, his enthusiasm powers his writing but doesn't overpower it.

Guralnick wrote the script for A&E's documentary, Sam Phillips: The Man Who Invented Rock 'n' Roll, narrated by Billy Bob Thornton, and he also scripted Sam Cooke - Legend, narrated by Jeffrey Wright.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho

Read EBOOK Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho by Peter Guralnick Online free

Download PDF: sweet-soul-music-eteln-soulin-nousu-ja-tuho.pdf Sweet Soul Music - Etelän soulin nousu ja tuho PDF