Read Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy by Flora Thompson Free Online

Ebook Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy by Flora Thompson read! Book Title: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy
Date of issue: October 15th 2008
ISBN: 1567923631
ISBN 13: 9781567923636
The author of the book: Flora Thompson
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 463 KB
Edition: David R. Godine

Read full description of the books Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy:

Introduction by Richard Mabey and illustrated with wood-engravings by Julie Neild.

At the end of the 19th century, Lark Rise – an isolated hamlet deep in the Oxfordshire countryside – was a rough and ready place, simple in its routines and narrow in outlook. Its people lived by the land, and the village year followed that of nature’s cycle, as it had done for generations. They laboured from dawn till dusk, and would often find themselves on the brink of poverty, yet, for all the hardship, the inhabitants of Lark Rise led a happy life. A country wedding, dancing on the green ‘until dusk fell and the stars came out’, the gathering of cowslips for the May Day garland, the beauty of the ripened cornfields, the Harvest Home feast of hams, plum puddings and beer – such unselfconscious, joyous moments turned their lives into ones of real fulfilment and pleasure.

"Lark Rise" was published in 1939 and was followed by "Over to Candleford" in 1941 and then "Candleford Green" in 1943; the popularity of the novels led to their publication in the form of an omnibus in 1945 under the title "Lark Rise to Candleford" and this particular edition has been published by arrangement with Penguin Books, London. -- t. p. verso.

Read Ebooks by Flora Thompson

Read information about the author

Ebook Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy read Online! Flora Jane Thompson (5 December 1876 – 21 May 1947) was an English novelist and poet famous for her semi-autobiographical trilogy about the English countryside, Lark Rise to Candleford.

Flora benefited from good access to books when the public library opened in Winton, in 1907. Not long after, in 1911, she won an essay competition in The Ladies Companion for a 300-word essay about Jane Austen.[6] She later wrote extensively, publishing short stories and magazine and newspaper articles. She was a keen self-taught naturalist and many of her nature articles were anthologised in 1986.

Her most famous works are the Lark Rise to Candleford trilogy, which she sent as essays to Oxford University Press in 1938 and which were published soon after. She wrote a sequel Heatherley which was published posthumously. The books are a fictionalised, if autobiographical, social history of rural English life in the late 19th and early 20th century and are now considered minor classics.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy

Read EBOOK Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy by Flora Thompson Online free

Download PDF: lark-rise-to-candleford-a-trilogy.pdf Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy PDF