Read The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories by Heinrich von Kleist Free Online

Ebook The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories by Heinrich von Kleist read! Book Title: The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories
Date of issue: January 28th 1974
ISBN: 0804463654
ISBN 13: 9780804463652
The author of the book: Heinrich von Kleist
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 11.51 MB
Edition: Frederick Ungar

Read full description of the books The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories:

From 'The Marquis of O--', in which a woman is made pregnant without her knowledge, to the vivid and inexplicable suffering portrayed in 'The Earthquake in Chile', his stories are those of a man swimming against the tide of the German Enlightenment, unable to believe in the idealistic humanism of his day, and who sees human nature as irrational, ambiguous and baffling. It is this loss of faith, together witrh his vulnerability and disequilibrium, his pronounced sense of evil, his desperate challenge to established values and beliefs, that carries Kleist more forcefully than Goethe or Schiller across the gap between the eighteenth century and today.

Read Ebooks by Heinrich von Kleist

Read information about the author

Ebook The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories read Online! The dramatist, writer, lyricist, and publicist Heinrich von Kleist was born in Frankfurt an der Oder in 1777. Upon his father's early death in 1788 when he was ten, he was sent to the house of the preacher S. Cartel and attended the French Gymnasium. In 1792, Kleist entered the guard regiment in Potsdam and took part in the Rhein campaign against France in 1796. Kleist voluntarily resigned from army service in 1799 and until 1800 studied philosophy, physics, mathematics, and political science at Viadrina University in Frankfurt an der Oder. He went to Berlin early in the year 1800 and penned his drama "Die Familie Ghonorez". Kleist, who tended to irrationalism and was often tormented by a longing for death, then lit out restlessly through Germany, France, and Switzerland.

After several physical and nervous breakdowns, in which he even burned the manuscript of one of his dramas, Heinrich von Kleist reentered the Prussian army in 1804, working in Berlin and Königsberg. There he wrote "Amphitryon" and "Penthesilea."

After being discharged in 1807, Kleist was apprehended on suspicion of being a spy. After this he went to Dresden, where he edited the art journal "Phoebus" with Adam Müller and completed the comedy "The Broken Pitcher" ("Der zerbrochene Krug") and the folk play "Katchen von Heilbronn" ("Das Käthchen von Heilbronn").

Back in Berlin, the one time Rousseau devotee had become a bitter opponent of Napoleon. In 1811, he finished "Prinz Friedrich von Homburg." Finding himself again in financial and personal difficulties, Heinrich von Kleist, together with his lover, the terminally ill Henriette Vogel, committed suicide near the Wannsee in Berlin in 1811.


Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories

Read EBOOK The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories by Heinrich von Kleist Online free

Download PDF: the-marquise-of-o-and-other-stories.pdf The Marquise of O--, and Other Stories PDF