Read Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions by Oliver Onions Free Online

Ebook Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions by Oliver Onions read! Book Title: Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions
Date of issue: May 9th 2003
ISBN: 1872621546
ISBN 13: 9781872621548
The author of the book: Oliver Onions
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 2.58 MB
Edition: The Tartarus Press

Read full description of the books Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions:

As a lifelong bookworm, I'm stunned that I never discovered Oliver Onions before I read this book. His writing is a treasure; something to be enjoyed at leisure. His writing is not a "beach book." It's also not entirely "ghost stories" as it is called in the title. There are certainly some ghost stories, but I would say a lot of the stories were more character studies. I'm not going to review each story. I loved all of them for different reasons, but the ones that have stuck with me since reading them include:

Resurrection in Bronze
The Smile of Karen
The Painted Face
The Rosewood Door
The Honey in the Wall

If you have never read any of Onions work, I highly recommend him!

Read Ebooks by Oliver Onions

Read information about the author

Ebook Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions read Online! Oliver Onions was born in Bradford in 1873. Although he legally changed his name to George Oliver in 1918, he always published under the name Oliver Onions. Onions originally worked as a commercial artist before turning to writing, and the dust jackets of his earliest works included illustrations painted by Onions himself.

Onions was a prolific writer of short stories and novels and is best remembered today for his ghost stories, the most famous of which is probably ‘The Beckoning Fair One’, originally published in Widdershins (1911). Despite being known today chiefly for his supernatural short fiction, Onions also published more than a dozen novels in a variety of genres, including In Accordance with the Evidence (1912), The Tower of Oblivion (1921), The Hand of Kornelius Voyt (1939), The Story of Ragged Robyn (1945), and Poor Man's Tapestry (1946), which won the prestigious James Tait Black Memorial Prize as the best work of fiction published that year.

Onions was apparently a very private individual, and though admired and well-respected in his time, he appears not to have moved in literary circles, and few personal memoirs of him survive. He spent most of his later life in Wales, where he lived with his wife, Berta Ruck (1878-1978), herself a prolific and popular novelist; they had two sons, Arthur (b. 1912) and William (b. 1913). Oliver Onions died in 1961.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions

Read EBOOK Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions by Oliver Onions Online free

Download PDF: ghost-stories-of-oliver-onions.pdf Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions PDF