Read The Man in the Queue by Josephine Tey Free Online

Ebook The Man in the Queue by Josephine Tey read! Book Title: The Man in the Queue
Date of issue: 1953
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
The author of the book: Josephine Tey
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 3.20 MB
Edition: The Macmillian Company

Read full description of the books The Man in the Queue:

A long line had formed for the standing-room-only section of the Woffington Theatre. Didn't You Know?, London's favorite musical comedy for the past two years, was finishing its run. The line began to move, but one man, his head sunk down upon his chest, slowly sank to his knees and keeled over. A spectator moved to help, but recoiled in horror: The man in the queue had a small silver dagger neatly plunged into his back. So begins Inspector Alan Grant's first case, and it's up to the dapper detective to discover how a murder was committed among so many witnesses . . .

Read Ebooks by Josephine Tey

Read information about the author

Ebook The Man in the Queue read Online! Josephine Tey was a pseudonym of Elizabeth Mackintosh. Josephine was her mother's first name and Tey the surname of an English Grandmother. As Josephine Tey, she wrote six mystery novels including Scotland Yard's Inspector Alan Grant.

The first of these, 'The Man in the Queue' (1929) was published under the pseudonym of Gordon Daviot , whose name also appears on the title page of another of her 1929 novels, 'Kit An Unvarnished History'. She also used the Daviot by-line for a biography of the 17th century cavalry leader John Graham, which was entitled 'Claverhouse' (1937).

Mackintosh also wrote plays (both one act and full length), some of which were produced during her lifetime, under the pseudonym Gordon Daviot. The district of Daviot, near her home of Inverness in Scotland, was a location her family had vacationed. The name Gordon does not appear in either her family or her history.

Elizabeth Mackintosh came of age during World War I, attending Anstey Physical Training College in Birmingham, England during the years 1915-1918. Upon graduation, she became a physical training instructor for eight years. In 1926, her mother died and she returned home to Inverness to care for her invalid father. Busy with household duties, she turned to writing as a diversion, and was successful in creating a second career.

Alfred Hitchcock filmed one of her novels, 'A Shilling for Candles' (1936) as 'Young and Innocent' in 1937 and two other of her novels have been made into films, 'The Franchise Affair' (1948), filmed in 1950, and 'Brat Farrar' (1949), filmed as 'Paranoiac' in 1963. In addition a number of her works have been dramatised for radio.

Her novel 'The Daughter of Time' (1951) was voted the greatest mystery novel of all time by the Crime Writers' Association in 1990.

Miss Mackintosh never married, and died at the age of 55, in London. A shy woman, she is reported to have been somewhat of a mystery even to her intimate friends. While her death seems to have been a surprise, there is some indication she may have known she was fatally ill for some time prior to her passing.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Man in the Queue

Read EBOOK The Man in the Queue by Josephine Tey Online free

Download PDF: the-man-in-the-queue.pdf The Man in the Queue PDF