Read The Deadman's Pedal by Alan Warner Free Online

Ebook The Deadman's Pedal by Alan Warner read! Book Title: The Deadman's Pedal
Date of issue: August 31st 2012
ISBN: 1448156769
ISBN 13: 9781448156764
The author of the book: Alan Warner
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 2.96 MB
Edition: Vintage Digital

Read full description of the books The Deadman's Pedal:

Winner of the James Tait Black Fiction Prize

For 16-year-old Simon Crimmons there is not a lot to do. Going nowhere, fed up with school, he leaves to work as a driver on the trains. That summer he is introduced to a world of grown-up glamour, strikes and girlfriends. When Simon falls for the ethereal, aristocratic Varie, he finds freedom and adventure but will it be at a price? Too ‘posh’ for the railways, too ‘working class’ for Varie, Simon must navigate what it means to be a man as his world is turned upside down.

Read Ebooks by Alan Warner

Read information about the author

Ebook The Deadman's Pedal read Online! Note: There is more than one Alan Warner, this is the page for the award-winning Scottish novelist. For books by other people bearing the same name see Alan Warner

Alan Warner is the author of six novels: the acclaimed Morvern Callar (1995), winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; These Demented Lands (1997), winner of the Encore Award; The Sopranos (1998), winner of the Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year Award; The Man Who Walks (2002), an imaginative and surreal black comedy; The Worms Can Carry Me to Heaven (2006), and The Stars in the Bright Sky (2010), a sequel to The Sopranos. Morvern Callar has been adapted as a film, and The Sopranos is to follow shortly. His short story 'After the Vision' was included in the anthology Children of Albion Rovers (1997) and 'Bitter Salvage' was included in Disco Biscuits (1997). In 2003 he was nominated by Granta magazine as one of twenty 'Best of Young British Novelists'. In 2010, his novel The Stars in the Bright Sky was included in the longlist for the Man Booker Prize.

Alan Warner's novels are mostly set in "The Port", a place bearing some resemblance to Oban. He is known to appreciate 1970s Krautrock band Can; two of his books feature dedications to former band members (Morvern Callar to Holger Czukay and The Man Who Walks to Michael Karoli). Alan Warner currently splits his time between Dublin and Javea, Spain.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Deadman's Pedal

Read EBOOK The Deadman's Pedal by Alan Warner Online free

Download PDF: the-deadmans-pedal.pdf The Deadman's Pedal PDF